• The kitchen at dusk
  • View of the kitchen at dusk.
  • Looking out from the Longhouse
  • Looking across to Canna and Rhum.



Check these out

The Longhouse was built by Mary Arnold-Forster, partner in Skye-based Dualchas Building Design. See www.dualchas.com for their building ethos and other examples of their work.

The interior photographs of the Longhouse were taken by Huntley Hedworth. See more of his splendid work at www.huntleyhedworth.com. Andrew Gilchrist took most of the scenic outdoor shots.

General Information

For information about Skye and what's going on, take a look at the comprehensive official website for Skye and Lochalsh: www.skye.co.uk

Travel

Caledonian MacBrayne: www.calmac.co.uk/timetables.html

Glenelg to Kylerhea ferry: www.skyeferry.co.uk

Train

Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh train: www.scotrail.co.uk/kyle.htm

Fort William to Mallaig train: www.steamtrain.info

Scotrail: www.scotrail.co.uk

Inverness Airport: www.hial.co.uk/inverness-airport

Activities

Mountain guides: www.cuillin-guides.co.uk

Walking: www.walking.visitscotland.com and www.skyewalk.co.uk

Deer stalking, shooting and fishing: www.eilean-iarmain.co.uk

Cycling: www.cycling.visitscotland.com

Golf: www.isleofskyegolfclub.co.uk

Sailing: www.skyeyachts.co.uk

Sailing: www.skye-sail.co.uk

Whitewave - Skye’s Outdoor Centre: www.white-wave.co.uk

Kayaking: www.skyakadventures.com

Horse riding: www.skyeridingcentre.co.uk

Scuba diving: www.dive-and-sea-the-hebrides.co.uk

Whalespotting: www.whalespotting.co.uk

Boat trips: www.seafari.co.uk www.bellajane.co.uk www.mistyisleboattrips.co.uk

Otter spotting and Gavin Maxwell: www.eileanban.org

Bird watching: www.skye-birds.com

Clan Donald Centre: www.clandonald.com

Sabhal Mor Ostaig: www.smo.uhi.ac.uk

Museum of Island Life: www.skyemuseum.co.uk

Highland Games: www.skye-highland-games.co.uk

Dunvegan Castle: www.dunvegancastle.com

Eating and Drinking

The Three Chimneys: www.threechimneys.co.uk

Kinloch Lodge: www.claire-macdonald.com

Isle Ornsay Hotel: www.eilean-iarmain.co.uk

Ardvasar Hotel: www.ardvasarhotel.com

Toravaig House Hotel: www.skyehotel.co.uk

Creelers Seafood Restaurant: www.skye-seafood-restaurant.co.uk

Food delivery - Isle of Skye Seafood: www.skye-seafood.co.uk

Talisker whisky: www.scotchwhisky.com

Isle of Skye Brewery: www.skyebrewery.co.uk

Organic food delivery: www.foodlinkvan.co.uk

Kids

Skye Serpentarium: www.skyeserpentarium.org.uk

Isle of Skye falconry: www.discoverituk.plus.com/isleofskye

Weather

Before you get here check out the weather: www.bbc.co.uk/weather and enter the postcode IV44